Cameron Zink wins Red Bull Rampage 2010 - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



Cameron Zink wins Red Bull Rampage 2010

Red Bull Rampage 2010
 1 of 6 

With wild skies above him and 1,500 feet of vertical drop below, Cameron Zink persevered over the obstacles to become the 2010 Red Bull Rampage champion.

Twenty-one of mountain biking’s best riders threw down all they had while battling wild weather, but when the skies cleared it was Zink who took home the trifecta – the contest win, Utah Sports Commission Best Trick Award and the Freeride Mountain Bike (FMB) World Tour season overall title.

During his first run, Zink attempted a 360 off the Oakley Icon Sender custom feature, but took a hard hit that cracked his helmet and was unsure if he could do another run. Once the medics cleared him, he was energized to go again, only to be delayed a couple hours by gusty wind, rain and threatening clouds.

But as the sun came out, Zink dug deep and threw down a perfect run that included a flawless 360 off the intimidating Oakley Icon Sender that sent him nearly 40 feet below. That massive move, which also won him Best Trick honors, was the only thing that could top the UK’s Gee Atherton, who was seeking redemption after making the 2008 event finals and then suffering an injury in practice that prevented him from riding.

Atherton’s racing background was a definite advantage that resulted in a fast, controlled line that wowed the judges, along with his huge transfer to wallride. Third place went to Darren “the Claw” Berrecloth who hands down had the most technical line from top to bottom.

Over 2,000 fans hiked into the remote desert venue to witness a contest that showcased a mix of rugged, natural downhill terrain and manmade obstacles. A team of builders led by Paddy Kay spent a month digging, building and grooming the course that would become the riders’ playground.

Course builder and former Red Bull Rampage competitor Josh Bender liked what he saw, “I was really excited on the utilization of all the features we built on the course – it was great to see the progression of the sport stepped up a couple levels.” With jaw dropping tricks like Greg Watt’s backflip stepdown and Atherton’s gap to wallride, the fans were given a show that could only be produced in unparalleled terrain of the Zion desert mountains.

“It’s so hard to get into the mode,” said Zink after taking his prize. “Your run has to be dialed from the top, you can’t just work your way into it and then be stylish towards the bottom. You have to pin it right from the top. I guess I picked up some contest skills and determination along the way because I did pretty well today!”

Red Bull Rampage 2010 Final Results

  1. Cameron Zink (USA) 89.2
  2. Gee Atherton (GBR) 82.4
  3. Darren Berrecloth (CAN) 81.2
  4. Andreu Lacondeguy (ESP) 79.0
  5. Geoff Gulevich (CAN) 77.2
  6. Thomas Vanderham (CAN) 76.6
  7. Robbie Bourdon (CAN) 76.0
  8. Kyle Strait (USA) 75.6
  9. Logan Binggeli (USA) 74.8
  10. Kurt Sorge (CAN) 73.0
  11. Alex Prochazka (CAN) 72.2
  12. Tyler McCaul (USA) 71.8
  13. Graham Agassiz (CAN) 71.0
  14. Cedric Gracia (FRA) 70.4
  15. Greg Watts (USA) 65.6
  16. Michal Marosi (CZE) 64.2
  17. Jamie Goldman (USA) 63.8
  18. Curtis Robinson (CAN) 62.4


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.