National Criterium Championship - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



National Criterium Championship

Rob Hayles filled another gap in his British Championships portfolio with
victory in the National Criterium championship, which took place in central
Birmingham at the weekend. However, the event ended in controversy as first
and third across the line, Chris Walker and Dean Downing, were both

The decision centred on a crash in the latter stages of the race, in which
both Walker and Downing were involved. According to the rules, riders who
crash can re-join the race a lap down without penalty, up until the last
five laps. It appears that the Commissaires took the decision that the crash
had occurred within the last five laps and Walker and Downing were
disqualified. To his credit, Walker took the decision in a very sporting
manner, despite the fact that, had he won, it would have been a hat-trick of
National Criterium titles for the Sheffield rider.

The race had all the classic ingredients of a Criterium, with a sporting
course including short climbs and tricky corners complemented by the hot
summer weather, in direct contrast to most of the season to date. The event
was run at a fierce pace, with an average speed of over forty kph, and there
were only eighteen riders still running at the finish.

National Crit Championships – Birmingham City Centre Sunday 18th June –
64.80 km
Results (provisional)
1. Rob Hayles Athletes 1 1hr 37 min 07 secs (40.05 kph)
2. John Tanner Provision Planet X 1.37.32
3. Anthony Malarczyk Real Cost Car Imports 1.37.50
4. Jon Clay SLBM 1.37.50
5. Matt Stephens Linda McCartney 1.37 50
6. James Taylor City of Edinburgh 1.38.03
7. Tom Barras Linda McCartney/WCU 1.38.13
8. Steve Higgins Robert Grinsell Travel 1.38.16
9. Lee Finch Arctic 2000 RT 1.38.16
10. Mike Moss Cottingham Coreures 1.38.16
11. John Stollery Robert Grinsell Travel 1.38.16
12 Steve Stoneman Real Cost Car Imports 1.38.16
13 Rob Wood ICSA Team 1.38.16
14. Martin Lonie Linda McCartney/WCU @ 1 lap
15 Mark Kelly Linda McCartney/WCU @ 1 lap
16 Robert Heap Cycle Centre RT @ 2 laps
Disq – Chris Walker, Dean Downing


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.