''it nearly kilt me'' - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



”it nearly kilt me”

After the wettest week we have had for a long time it turned out to be a great day for the last race of the 2000 calendar and a record field of 43 turned up at Sighthill to take part in what proved to be an epic finish to the Cyclocross season.

With a course set by past MTB Masters Champion Roddy Yarr, it was sure to be a fair but stern examination of the fitness of all riders and the early running was taken up by Jonathan McBain, who went flat out from the start.

The next lap was all Stevie Jackson’s and he looked strong at this point, only to be passed on the next lap by Iain Nimmo, closely followed by Fredric Morestin , who had not started exceptionally fast but from lap 3 showed his stamina and seemed to be keeping the same lap times.

The lead changed hands again on the 4th with Stevie Jackson again trying to press ahead only for Iain Nimmo to take the next 3 laps.

It was on lap 8 that Fredric pushed ahead and remained there until the last 200 yards of the race, at which point Iain Nimmo found a little bit extra and went on to win by only 1 second! This was all the more remarkable since on the second last lap Fredric had opened up a 30 yard advantage, only to see Iain haul him back in again, and ultimately pass him for victory.

Full results are;

Senior Men

1st – Iain Nimmo – Scottish Champion 2000 – 13 laps – Wheels of Callander

2nd – Fredric Morestin – plus 1 second – SC Abvets

3rd – Evan Hawkins – 2nd Scottish Champs – plus 1.38 min

4th – Stevie Jackson – 3rd Scottish Champs – plus 3.31 min. – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

5th – Alan Quinn – 12 laps – Glasgow United

6th – James Plunkett

7th – James Melville – Glasgow United

8th – Jonathan McBain – Midlothian RT

9th – Andy Ayre – Sandy Wallace Cycles

10th – Will Corry – Scottish Junior Champ

11th – Gary Tompsett – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club
12th – David Smith -11 laps

13th – Chris Marquis

14th – Mark Stuart – Sandy Wallace Cycles

15th – Gareth Montgomery – Raleigh Factory Racing

16th – Kenny Kently – 10 laps – Team Velo Ecosse

17th – Kieran Hay – VC Olympia

18th – Jackie Reid – Scottish Womens Champ – Sandy Wallace Cycles

19th – Gary Donaghey

20th – David Wardell – Scottish Youth Champ – Sandy Wallace Cycles

21st – Neil Taylor – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

22nd – Alistair Miller – Full Mental/Riks Bike Shed

23th – Fiona Land – Scottish Junior Womens Champ – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

24th – Jim McManus – Scottish Vets Champ – Glasgow United

25th – Andrew Marshall – Full Mental/Riks Bike Shed

26th – Jason Hynd – Midlothian RT

27th – Alistair Dow – Musselburgh RCC

28th – Finlay Prestel – Midlothian RT

29th – Sarah Gilliam – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

30th – Christine Allan – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

31st – Gordan Bathgate – 9 laps – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

32nd – Paula Hynd – Team Caledonia

33rd – Robert Wardell – Sandy Wallace Cycles

34th – James Hand – Sandy Wallace Cycles

35th – Alan Linstead – 8 laps – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

36th – Stuart McManus – Glasgow Nightingales

DNF – Iain Bell

DNF – Bruce Croall

DNF – Gary Hand – Sandy Wallace Cycles

DNF – Andy Gowan – Alpine Bikes

DNF – Andrew Cox – Midlothian RT

DNF – George Buchanan – Glasgow United

DNF – Will Sellwood – Glasgow Mountain Bike Club

DNF – K. Dow – Mussleborgh RCC

Cheers Pete


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.