Great Britain name World Championships team - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



Great Britain name World Championships team

Defending downhill world champion Tracy Moseley will lead Great Britain’s 32-rider team at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Champéry, Switzerland from August 31-September 4.

Annie Last will represent Great Britain in the women’s under-23 cross-country race

Steve Peat, world champion in 2009, in named in the men’s downhill line-up along with 2010 World Cup champion Gee Atherton, while Liam Killeen and Oli Beckingsale will spearhead Great Britain’s charge in the elite men’s cross-country race.

No rider is named in the elite women’s cross-country category as Annie Last, Great Britain’s top female, is required to ride the under-23 category, looking to upgrade her silver medal from last year.

“We have a massive pool of mountain bike talent in Great Britain and this is reflected in the size of the squad we have selected for the World Championships,” said Great Britain’s performance manager Shane Sutton.

“The Downhill guys perform consistently well year-on-year and it’s exciting to see the young talent, like Danny Hart, up there on the podium alongside the best elite riders in the world.

“From an Olympic perspective, I believe we’re gaining momentum as we approach 2012 and we’ve seen some promising performances from all the riders. Annie Last in particular has done the country proud by riding up an age category this year in the World Cup series and recently winning the silver medal at the under-23 Euros.

“For the World Championships, she must ride within her under-23 category and it would be great to see her back on the World Championship podium like she was last year.”

Cross Country:

Elite Men
Liam Killeen
Oli Beckingsale

U23 Men
David Fletcher
Kenta Gallagher

U23 Women
Annie Last

Junior Men
Grant Ferguson
Matt Sumpton

Junior Women
Bethany Crumpton
Katy Winton


Elite Men
Gee Atherton
Marc Beaumont
Josh Bryceland
Ruaridh Cunningham
Brendan Fairclough
Danny Hart
Steve Peat

Elite Women
Rachel Atherton
Fionn Griffiths
Tracy Moseley

Junior Men
Lewis Buchanan
Mark Scott

Junior Women
Manon Carpenter

Four Cross:

Elite Men
Scott Beaumont
Will Evans
Scott Roberts

Elite Women
Fionn Griffiths


Grant Ferguson
David Fletcher
Kenta Gallagher
Tracy Moseley


Andrei Burton
James Hyland
David Kerr
Sam Oliver
Ben Savage
Joe Seddon


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.