Texan power trip - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



Texan power trip

Not content with destroying the field in the tough mountain stage to Alpe d’Huez, Lance Armstrong set about repeating the job 24 hours later in the individual time trial.
Armstrong used his unbeatable strength to crush any lingering doubts that he hasn’t got the form he had last year, by riding up the unmerciful 32km climb at a unassailable speed.

The Texan set the quickest times at each of the three time checks and beat his main challenger, Jan Ullrich (Telekom) by a minute. Their two riding styles were a complete contrast, as Armstrong carried himself with a high cadence, Ullrich smoothly ground a heavy gear up the mountain. Yellow jersey holder, Francois Simon, lost an astonishing seven minutes, while Andie Kivilev lost six.

Although the American now leads Ullrich by over three minutes, he’ll still have to carry his form for another ten gruelling stages that include the Pyrenees, and while he seems more than capable of handling attacks, his team doesn’t. Heras still hasn’t found the form we all know he can and Hamilton is sick. Ullrich and the rest won’t give up their fight and have little choice but to go on the attack. It all makes for a very exciting few days.

Stage 11, Grenoble-Chamrousse 32km

1st Lance Armstrong (USA, USPS) 1h’7m’27sec
2nd Jan Ullrich (Ger, Telekom) at 1m
3rd Joseba Beloki (Esp, ONCE) at 1m’35sec
4th Roberto Laiseka (Esp, Eus) at 2m’3sec
5th Oscar Sevilla (Esp, Kelme) at 2m’24sec
6th Igor Galdeano (Esp, ONCE) at 2m’31sec
7th Santiago Botero (Col, Kelme) at 2m’43sec
8th Christophe Moreau (Fra, Festina) at 3m’00sec
9th Sven Montgomery (Sui, FDJ) at 3m’07sec
10th Stefano Garzelli (Ita, Mapei) at 3m’08sec



Overall Standings

1st Francois Simon (France, Bonjour) 46h’48m’36sec
2nd Andei Kivilev (Kaz, Cofidis) at 11m’01sec
3rd Lance Armstrong (US, USPS) at 13m’07sec
4th Joseba Beloki (Esp, ONCE) at 16m’17sec
5th Jan Ullrich (Ger, Telekom) at 16m’44sec
6th Christophe Moreau (Fra, Festina) at 18m’21sec
7th Igor Galdeano (Esp, ONCE) at 19m’05sec
8th Oscar Sevilla (Esp, Kelme) at 19m’31sec
9th Santiago Botero (Col, Kelme) at 21m’35sec
10th Stuart O’Grady (Aus, C.A) at 21m’48sec