La Ruta De Los Conquistadores stage 3: Montoya & Mata Take 20th La Ruta  - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



La Ruta De Los Conquistadores stage 3: Montoya & Mata Take 20th La Ruta

Despite having to inflate his tire twice before changing the entire wheel at the aid station, Paolo Montoya managed to keep his lead over his closest GC closest rival, Cannondale’s Alex Grant to take his second La Ruta title.

Montoya won the first stage and was able to keep his lead over 500 racers to the finish line in Limón, Costa Rica’s Caribbean main port.

The stage started off with an optional raft at one of the world’s most spectacular sites, the Pacuare River. Once racers made it to the take out, the last stage started.

70 kilometres of railroads and sketchy bridge crossings took racers all the way to the coast where the last sprint to the finish line kept the pace of the lead pack strong and explosive.

Milton Ramos from Spain has been in La Ruta’s top five on several occasions. Image: J. Andres Vargas – Lead Adventure Media

Stage winner was Costa Rican Enrique Artavia, followed by Lico Ramírez and Todd Wells in fourth place.

Artavia earned his stage lead from the very first railroad bridge. He ran around Todd Wells in a bold move that set the tone for the rest of the stage, then kept on gaining speed as he hauled his bike, literally running across the bridges.

“I don’t know how he did it, he just ran across the bridges and we saw him get away,” said Lico Ramírez.

Aleman going full tilt. Image: J. Andres Vargas – Lead Adventure Media

The leaders knew that the last 10 kilometres meant a mighty sprint to the end of the race. The GC was tight and everyone knew that a flat could mean losing a podium place.

Lico and Wells were able to break away from the chase pack and catch up with Artavia. But that wasn’t enough to get them on the podium at the 20th anniversary of La Ruta.

Stage results

1 Enrique Artavia (CRC) – 1:47:42
2 Federico Ramirez (CRC) – 0:00:01
3 Todd Wells (USA) – 0:00:02

1 Pua Mata (USA – 2:06:37
2 Samantha Phillips (GBR) – 00:11:05
3 Cynthia Coto (CRC) – 00:18:41

Final classification

1 Paolo Montoya (CRC) – 10:40:27
2 Alex Grant (USA) – 00:07:51
3 Dennis Porras (CRC) – 00:08:59

1 Pua Mata (USA) – 12:35:18
2 Ligia Madrigal (CRC) – 04:25:49
3 Cynthia Coto (CRC) – 04:33:43

Full Results here


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.