Genco Mongolia Bike Challenge 2013: Stage Videos and Top 3 Results - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



Genco Mongolia Bike Challenge 2013: Stage Videos and Top 3 Results

The Genco Mongolia Bike Challenge 2013 – presented by Orbea – has just been concluded and winners of the seven-stage endurance race have been crowned. Have a look at the stage-by-stage recap videos to get an idea of the vast landscapes and incredible fitness required to finish the event.

Results – top 3 male

1: Cory Wallace
2: Antonio Ortiz Barranco
3: Pau Zamora

Results – top 3 female

1: Catherine Williamson
2: Sonya Looney
3: Erin Greene

Full results and stage round ups can be found on the 2013 Genco Mongolia Bike Challenge presented by Orbea website.

Stage 1

Stage 2

Racer interviews

Stage 4

Stage 5

Stage 6

Stage 7

The 2013 Genco Mongolia Bike Challenge presented by Orbea concluded with Stage Seven. The route was 86 kilometres with 1400 metres of climbing and brought the athletes to the 13th Century National Park Historical Ger Camp.

In the Men’s Elite Category, Pau Zamora (Buff-Niner) attacked on the first GPM and brought Wallace (Kona), Ortiz (Selle SMP) and Sager (Jamis) with him. The four GC leaders battled it out for the rest of the stage with Wallace riding away from the group to take the final stage by 50 seconds over Sager. The Final GC standings remained unchanged with Wallace retaining the Pink Jersey for the second straight year. Ortiz finishes second overall followed by Pau Zamora in third.

In the Women’s Category, Sonya Looney (Topeak-Ergon) made a charge midway through the race to take the second GPM and was able to hold on for the stage victory. In the GC, Catherine Williamson (Bizhub-Energas) took the Pink Jersey followed by Looney (Topeak-Ergon) and Erin Greene (Endura NZ), respectively.

Maral-erdene Batmunkh, Altansukh Altanzul and Munkhtulga Erdensuren (Genco Tour Team) took the Yellow Jersey for the Team of Three GC Category. Note: final team results will be updated to reflect this.

The remaining GC category winners include Thomas Vandendaele (Sportsman),
Tom Smets (Master 1), Timothy Goulding (Master 2) and Robert Bleeker (Veteran).


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.