With Foot and Mouth disease still severely hampering mountain biking over much of the country, the first round of the BCF's National Points Series (NPS) is being moved from Pateley Bridge to Fort William in Scotland and to the "Offbeat Downhill" course at Nevis Range. The dates for the event weekend will stay the same: 12th and 13th May 2001.

We are still planning to run a four round Downhill series, with the final three events as advertised (Innerleithen 2nd and 3rd June, Combe Sydenham 25th and 26th August and Ae Forest 29th and 30th September). Riders' best three results from four will decide the series, though riders must start the final round to be considered for series prizes.

At Fort William, riders will be able to take advantage of the full gondola uplift facility to the top of the four and a half minute course, which was designed by Damien Forester and his crew at "Offbeat Bikes". The race will be run on the Sunday with a full day's practice on the Saturday. The course will be open for foot inspection only on Friday.

There will be no camping onsite except for teams booked into the trade arena. Local campsites are available. Car Parking will be free for spectators and riders. The course is closed until the Saturday of the race. We urge everyone not to attempt to ride on the hill before the race as this will almost certainly lead to the loss of race and venue. The hill will be open to riders following the race. Riders must make sure that their bikes are as clean as possible upon arrival. All bikes will be disinfected and any dirt or grime will slow this process. Closing date for entries is Monday 30th April and normal NPS priority rules will apply. There will be strictly no entries accepted at the event.

Any NPS entries already received for Pateley Bridge will be valid for the Fort William race. Riders who have entered but can't make it to Scotland can claim a full refund by writing, enclosing an SAE, to "BCF, National Cycling Centre, Stuart Street, Manchester M11 4DQ. Please mark envelopes "NPS Entries" (all riders who have already entered will be receive a letter to this effect).