World Cycle Racing: Ten cyclists to race around the globe - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



World Cycle Racing: Ten cyclists to race around the globe

World Cycle Racing will launch on the 18th February 2012, and ten riders will set off to race 18,000 miles around the world in what has been described as ‘the Longest, toughest, adventure race in the world’. The goal? Winning the race and hopefully claiming the ultimate prize of a new Guinness World Record.

Bikemagic will be following the ten riders in this challenge, and profiling each rider as they prepare and embark on this challenge. Before we get into that, here’s an overview of the massive challenge they face.

Currently the fastest circumnavigation by bicycle is 96 days, 10 hours and 33 minutes, and was achieved by Alan Bate (UK) who cycled a distance of 29,467.91 km (18,310.47 mi) and travelled over 42,608.76 km (26,475.8 mi) in total (including transfers). The journey started and finished at the Grand Palace in Bangkok, Thailand, from 31 March to 4 August 2010.

Riders competing in the World Cycle Racing event will be tracked via satellite tracking in what is shaping up to be the most dramatic adventure race ever. With the ability to track each rider individually every 10 mins through Trackleaders and along with special race commentary you will be sure not to miss any of the action as it unfolds.

Five times longer than the Tour de France, these amateur riders will have to cycle and astonishing 190 miles per day to stand a chance of claiming a new World Record. Each rider in the WCR will be riding solo un-supported.

From racing across the Gobi desert, climbing the heights of the rocky mountains, battling the headwinds of the australian outback to revelling in the marvels of India. Each route is as unique as it is challenging at is sure to test every rider to the limit both physically and mentally. Only the strongest overall rider will return first victorious back to London just before the Olympic games.

The official race start will be from Greenwich Park, London at 12 noon with the opportunity to see off the riders as they embark on their epic journey’s.

The ten riders are:

There are two groups of riders. WCR – Grand Tour riders who will be setting off from the same location in London and WCR independents who are setting off from a different location in the UK. Both groups will depart on the 18th February 2012

WCR Grand Tour Riders

Mike Hall

Martin Walker

Kyle Hewitt

Jason Woodhouse

Simon Hutchinson

Richard Dunnett

Stuart Lansdale

Sean Conway

Stephen Phillips

WCR Independents

Paul Ashley-Unett


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.