UCI World Cup XC1 - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



UCI World Cup XC1

We stand to be corrected on this, but as far as we can remember the weekend’s UCI World Cup XC race on the Caribbean island of Curaçao was the first to have the finish line on a beach. And it was former Olympic Champion Bart Brentjens (Netherlands, Giant) who crossed it first – his first World Cup win for four years.

Brentjens may have had a hint of an advantage – he’s been working with the race organisers on Curaçao and designed the 6.8km course. But no amount of local knowledge would have helped with the roasting temperatures (the races were shortened, but several riders still struggled with the heat), and Brentjens fought off a strong challenge from World Champion Julien Absalon (Bianchi). Commonwealth Champion Liam Killeen (Specialized) was third, with Brentjens’s Giant team-mate Roel Paulissen and Killeen’s Specialized team-mate Christoph Sauser rounding out the podium.

Commonwealth Games silver medallist Oli Beckingsale (Giant) was 17th. A noteworthy appearance further down the rankings was that of Filip Meirhaeghe in 31st place, making his World Cup comeback after testing positive for EPO in 2004.

In the women’s race it was almost business as usual for defending World Cup champion Gunn-Rita Dahle (Multivan Merida). She rode off the front after the short opening loop, but couldn’t open her usual enormous gap over the rest of the field. Sabine Spitz (Specialized) managed to keep Dahle’s pace (albeit a little way behind) for several laps, although Dahle eventually won with a healthy 1:38 margin. Margarita Fullana was third, with North American riders Marie-Helene Premont (Canada) and Mary McConneloug (USA) coming in fourth and fifth.

The next XC round is Madrid (13/14 May) but before that there’s the opening rounds of the DH and 4X series (Vigo, Spain, 6/7 May) and the Marathon series (Naoussa, Greece, 6/7 May).



1 Bart BRENTJENS 1:48:52 +0:00:00 NED Giant
2 Julien ABSALON 1:49:13 +0:00:21 FRA Bianchi Agos
3 Liam KILLEEN 1:49:19 +0:00:28 GBR Specialized
4 Roel PAULISSEN 1:49:36 +0:00:45 BEL Giant
5 Christoph SAUSER 1:50:20 +0:01:28 SUI Specialized
17 Oli BECKINGSALE 1:55:35 +0:06:43 GBR Giant
33 Philip SPENCER 1:58:03 +0:09:11 GBR Bikin’ Cyprus Int.
44 Simon RICHARDSON 2:00:05 +0:11:13 GBR
55 Steven ROACH 2:02:25 +0:13:33 GBR
80 Adrian LANSLEY +1 Lap GBR
81 William BJERGFELT +1 Lap GBR
93 Lee WILLIAMS +3 Laps GBR


1 Gunn-Rita DAHLE 1:45:54 +0:00:00 NOR Multivan Merida
2 Sabine SPITZ 1:47:33 +0:01:38 GER Specialized
3 Margarita FULLANA 1:49:00 +0:03:05 ESP Spiuk Illes Balears
4 Marie-Helene PREMONT 1:49:33 +0:03:39 CAN
5 Mary McCONNELOUG 1:49:43 +0:03:49 USA


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.