Brixton Cycles Beastway 2012: Round three report - Bike Magic

Bike Magic - Mountain Bike News, Videos and Reviews. Keep up with the latest Biking Gear, Events and Trail Guides at BikeMagic.



Brixton Cycles Beastway 2012: Round three report

The third race of the Brixton Cycles Beastway Mountain Bike Series held at Hog Hill (Redbridge Cycle Centre), east London on May 30.

A new section of track welcomed riders on this surprisingly warm and sunny evening for week three of the Brixton Cycles supported London mountain bike series.

Phil Lenney, Gary Record and Alex Baker struck out early on and soon had a good lead over a massive fight being conducted for master’s honours.

The lead three became two when Record pulled off with an old knee injury, leaving Lenney and Baker to exchange places for many laps before the flag. At the finish a very close finish saw Lenney just take it, this after a review by judges after first awarding the race to Baker.

Just behind was Matt Webber who was able to stay ahead of first Master Mark Sheperd and first Sport, Joe Norledge.

Baker’s second also gave him top junior placing him ahead of Sam Judd. Paul Warner was best of the single speeds and Kurt Minter had to work very hard to beat Graham Pentney in Veteran Men, not forgetting a line of closely finishing veterans featuring Neil Cooper and Russell Jones.

Shepherd’s fourth overall gave him the Masters category by a good margin, but the battle for second was very close as Chris Panayiotou, Robert Purcell, Robert Moore and Andy Waterman contested the place.

Joe Norledge rode a simply brilliant race to claim top Sport holding a big advantage over the rest. Top Grand Veteran was Dennix Dix and top woman was Shari Pay.

Once more the action in the Youth races was intense, but finally it was Ruari Phelan who claimed first Cat A from Sean Dunlea. Cat B was won by Toby Martin and best girl was Gretel Warner.

 Top ten results

1    38 Phil Lenney EXM Cycles   9     1:00:57

2   131 Alex Baker JUM Orange Monkey / Cannondale   9     1:00:57

3    74 Matthew Webber EXM London Phoenix   9     1:03:15

4    22 Mark Shepherd MAM    9     1:04:18

5   127 Joe Norledge SPM Velo 29   9     1:04:30

6    62 Chris Panayiotou MAM Torq Tri   9     1:05:03

7    21 Robert Purcell MAM Mountain Trax   9     1:05:32

8   148 Robert Moore MAM London Phoenix   9     1:05:33

9    88 Andy Waterman MAM Vicious Velo   9     1:06:37

10   145 Martin Weiss Hansen EXM London Phoenix   9     1:07:40

The next round is tonight, details at


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.