2013 Mountain Bike Marathon World Champs Results

This weekend saw the re-crowning of two of the sport’s legends at the 2013 Marathon MTB World Championships in Austria.

Switzerland’s Christoph Sauser showed his skill, experience and of course incredible stamina by taking the men’s win for the third time in his career and adding yet another win to the Specialized rider’s 2013 list. It didn’t come without a fight though, as Austrian Alban Lakata pushed Sauser all the way to the line and less than five seconds eventually separating the two. Hector Paez of Colombia rode a stormer to third, only a few minutes behind.

Men (95km):

1: Christoph Sauser
2: Alban Lakata
3: Hector Paez

In the women’s race, the win was also to go to a long-term podium fixture, this time in the form of Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa of Norway. Britain’s Sally Bigham fought a good battle against Dahle Flesjaa, leading for the initial part of the race before conceding first place to the Norwegian who finished four minutes clear. Esther Suss of Switzerland took the final podium spot.

Women (85km):

1: Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa
2: Sally Bigham
3: Esther Suss

Full results available on the UCI Website.

There are 0 comments. Add yours. Hide them.